Langevin, Thompson Introduce Bipartisan Resolution Recognizing National Career and Technical Education Month

Feb 7, 2018
Press Release

Congressmen Jim Langevin (D-RI) and Glenn ‘GT’ Thompson (R-PA), co-chairs of the Congressional Career and Technical Education (CTE) Caucus, introduced a resolution recognizing National CTE Month, which is celebrated every February.

“I’m thrilled to join Congressman Thompson in recognizing National CTE Month, a time to celebrate CTE programs across the United States and raise awareness about how they help build a skilled national workforce,” said Congressman Langevin. “Too many businesses in Rhode Island struggle to fill job openings because of a lack of skilled workers. As co-chair of the CTE Caucus, I’m proud to support programs that help close the skills gap and ensure expanding industries have access to the talent they need to succeed.”

“As Co-Chair of the Career and Technical Education Caucus, I am pleased to designate February as CTE Month,” said Congressman Thompson. “Given the dramatic evolution of our nation’s workforce, it is imperative that we create clear pathways to education and training for students interested in pursuing careers in high-demand industries and technical fields. We saw President Trump highlight the increased need for vocational schools during his State of the Union address, and I wholeheartedly agree. If we are going to permanently close the nation’s skills-gap and restore rungs on the ladder of opportunity, it will be through enhanced career and technical education opportunities.”

Nearly 12 million students are enrolled in CTE programs at high schools, career academies, CTE centers, and two-year colleges across the country. The resolution recognizes the importance of CTE and encourages educators, counselors, career development professionals, and parents to promote CTE as an option for students.

Last year, the House of Representatives passed bipartisan legislation led by Thompson and Langevin to strengthen CTE programs through the reauthorization of the Carl D. Perkins Career and Technical Education Act. The Perkins Act provides resources to local CTE programs to prepare students for careers in high-demand fields.

The Resolution was also cosponsored by Langevin and Thompson’s colleagues, Representatives Nanette Diaz Barragán (D-CA), Rod Blum (R-IA), Anthony Brown (D-MD), John Carter (R-TX), James Comer (R-KY), Barbara Comstock (R-VA), Ryan Costello (R-PA), Susan Davis (D-CA), Mike Doyle (D-PA), Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Colleen Hanabusa (D-HI), Denny Heck (D-WA), Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), Hank Johnson, Jr. (D-GA), Joseph Kennedy, III (D-MA), Steve King (R-IA), Raja Krishnamoorthi (D-IL), Ann McLane Kuster (D-NH), Rick Larsen (D-WA), Brenda Lawrence (D-MI), Al Lawson, Jr. (D-FL), Mia Love (R-UT), Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Jerry McNerney (D-CA), Rick Nolan (D-MN), Mark Pocan (D-WI), Tim Ryan (D-OH), Carol Shea-Porter (D-NH), Mike Simpson (R-ID), Louise Slaughter (D-NY), Adam Smith (D-WA), Darren Soto (D-FL), Fred Upton (R-MI), Marc Veasey (D-TX), Bruce Westerman (R-AR), Frederica Wilson (D-FL), and John Yarmuth (D-KY).

Text of the resolution can be found here.